Page: 1, 2, 3  Next

Building a New Computer
MatthewHSE
Location: Central Illinois, typically glued to a computer screen
Reply Quote
Hi, this is my first post here. Looks good; I hope to be around a lot in the future!

I'm looking to build a new computer, which I've never done before, so I have a few questions:

First, I want to start with 512 MB RAM. That's double what my current system has, but I want to be able to upgrade in the future if necessary. I've heard that memory has to be used at least two pieces at a time. So, am I correct in assuming I couldn't just buy a 512MB piece of memory and use it by itself for now?

Second, it's been recommended that I should update the BIOS and motherboard drivers with up-to-date versions from the Gigabyte website (I'm using a Gigabyte mobo). But, I really don't know how or when to update the drivers. Is it done somehow before Windows is installed, or afterward?

Also, the Gigabyte motherboard I'm buying apparently comes with raid drivers. I only have one hard drive and I don't expect to get a second one any time soon. Most of my work is done from a networked computer which has a raid system anyway, so I really don't need raid capabilities in the forseeable future. Should I install the raid drivers, or just let it go for now?

Finally, I've never built a computer before. I know I can put the parts together, and I know I can install the operating system (Windows 2000 Pro). But, don't I have to set the BIOS or CMOS or something, boot order, etc., before the OS is installed? If so, what are these steps, what are recommended settings, etc.?

Any help on this will be greatly appreciated. I'm excited to be building my own system, but just a little confused in a few areas.