Page: 1, 2  Next

Missin nvidia-kernel-2.6.38-1.dmz.1-liquorix-686
dodjie60
Reply Quote
Hello,

Installed 2.6.38-1.dmz.1-liquorix-686 and Nvidia failed.

Can anybody give me some help with this one. Nvidia problem without this kernel.

nvidia-kernel-2.6.37-4.dmz.1-liquorix-686 is installed in conjunction to:

"dodjiel@debian:~$ uname -a
Linux debian 2.6.37-4.dmz.1-liquorix-686 #1 ZEN SMP PREEMPT Tue Mar 15 01:22:21 UTC 2011 i686 GNU/Linux"

without problem.

I'm totally new to linux.
techAdmin
Reply Quote
Use sgfxi to install the driver.

:: Code ::
cd /usr/local/bin && wget -O sgfxi smxi.org/sgfxi && sgfxi

this should get nvidia running, unless you did some odd things that aren't handled in your attempt to get it running.

If you are totally new to linux you are going to have a learning curve, so you'll need to learn.

You do EXACTLY verbatim that command, as root, in a terminal window. It will tell you you need to leave X, do so, login as: root in the console shell, password, then type in: sgfxi
and hit enter.

Also, when you post and are new make sure to post relevant details, like what distribution you are using, precisely, and what video card you have, and so on.

Some Mepis and some LMDE users are reporting issues on some nvidia cards but who knows why or what is going on there.
dodjie60
Reply Quote
:: techAdmin wrote ::
Use sgfxi to install the driver.

:: Code ::
cd /usr/local/bin && wget -O sgfxi smxi.org/sgfxi && sgfxi

this should get nvidia running, unless you did some odd things that aren't handled in your attempt to get it running.

If you are totally new to linux you are going to have a learning curve, so you'll need to learn.

You do EXACTLY verbatim that command, as root, in a terminal window. It will tell you you need to leave X, do so, login as: root in the console shell, password, then type in: sgfxi
and hit enter.