testing mod_rewrite
garydr
Reply Quote
I'm trying to learn to use RewriteCond and RewriteRule but i have no experience with regex. Is there a tool somewhere that one can use to test the effect of a trial RewriteCond / RewriteRule expression?

Thanks
jeffd
Reply Quote
Not that I know of. Here's the absolute, no excuses minimum requirement for starting to play with mod rewrite:

Set up a real apache server, ideally on linux box.

Learn how it works.

Learn how to set up a real virtual site.

Then learn how, within that site definition section, to implement mod rewrite rules. Mod rewrite is VERY hard to learn to do reasonably well.

If you can't do this, then set up a testing DIRECTORY inside a currently existing site and use .htaccess files to to test your rules.

It is imperitave, at least while you're learning, to have a working test environment.

Study existing samples of mod rewrite. and start reading about regular expressions.

At some point you have to learn the basics of regex, so there's almost no point in trying to deal with something as complicated as apache mod rewrite while having no idea of regex at all, it's just too hard.

In my opinion, mod rewrite on apache was the single most difficult thing I've learned with web programming stuff, so don't pretend to yourself that there is some quick and easy cheat route, you will just end up making really serious mistakes at some point because you'll be implementing stuff you don't understand. There are few syntaxes more terse than apache mod rewrite, and few methods where it's easier to make fatal loop conditions that will take down the server instantly.

So read on it.

There might be some cheat forms or something, but I can virtually guarantee you that you're better off either having someone teach you your specific requirement, then explain it to you, or stopping and spending some time learning the basics.