Beginner questions about making Java script cookie
kenneth_ltk
Reply Quote
Hello,

I'm completely new in web programming and I just made a Google search and find this tutorial on how to make a javascript cookie (http://techpatterns.com/downloads/javascript_cookies.php).

I have problems on how to make the script really work for my website and please help me if you have related experience, thank you.

1) There are several variables need to be replaced like name, value, expires, path, domain, secure, I don't understand the meaning of "value", what should I put in the variable "value"?

2) Do I need to create a file something like "cookie.js" and put it in my Public_html folder in order to make the cookie work properly?

3) I have tried to put the following script into my head tag, please tell me if something is wrong. I only made changes in the five variables. I tried to make the cookie expires after 24 hrs.

function Get_Cookie( name ) {

var start = document.cookie.indexOf( name + "=" );
var len = start + name.length + 1;
if ( ( !start ) &&
( name != document.cookie.substring( 0, name.length ) ) )
{
return null;
}
if ( start == -1 ) return null;
var end = document.cookie.indexOf( ";", len );
if ( end == -1 ) end = document.cookie.length;
return unescape( document.cookie.substring( len, end ) );
}

function Set_Cookie( test, testing, 1, '/', '', '' )
{
var today = new Date();
today.setTime( today.getTime() );

if ( expires )
{
expires = expires * 1000 * 60 * 60 * 60;
}
var expires_date = new Date( today.getTime() + (expires) );

document.cookie = name + "=" +escape( value ) +
( ( expires ) ? ";expires=" + expires_date.toGMTString() : "" ) +
( ( path ) ? ";path=" + path : "" ) +
( ( domain ) ? ";domain=" + domain : "" ) +
( ( secure ) ? ";secure" : "" );
}

If u have experience on writing a cookie script, please help me, thank you very much.

Regards,
Kenneth
jeffd
Reply Quote