Frames - yes? no? HELP!
ada
Reply Quote
Hello everyone,

This is my first visit / post here (please be kind!) I'm a novice developer and am in great need of advice on a site I'm developing for friends.

I have it in frames with a splash page entry. I know folks either love frames or hate them, and the splash page is strictly for the search engines' benefit. My problem is, the owners seem pleased with the design; but, are concerned about it's not showing up in the search engines. I've put everything I can in the META tags without "stuffing" them, and on every single page of the site.

I stumbled on TECHpatterns, while researching frames and search engines. I think links to sites are disllowed here; but, what is the general consensus in developing? Frames - yes/ Frames-no?

Any suggestions appreciated.

ada
jeffd
Reply Quote
Well, we'll be merciful.

You have basically done it all wrong, every step of the way.

So, stop using meta tags for seo, first off. Use them for what they are designed for, descriptions. keywords I usually don't even bother with any more.

It's been years since any real search engine used the information in meta tags to position your site in the results. Google uses the stuff in your description meta tag to display a blurb on their results page if nothing else on the page presents itself as a logical context. But they do not use the meta description for any other purpose, especially not serp placement.

So forget that idea, clean up those spammy meta tags, make them read like a real description, and forget about the keywords altogether.

Also along these lines, don't bother trying to put key words in other places, like image tags, etc. Or in noscript tags. These are all old tricks, that will usually just end up getting the site penalized long term.