Trying a little cloaking
MatthewHSE
Location: Central Illinois, typically glued to a computer screen
Reply Quote
Yep, I'm changing the color of my SEO hat! ;)

Not really, actually I want to use just enough cloaking to avoid starting a session for crawlers. Before I get started, though, I have a few questions about this:

1.) What user-agents do I need to filter through to NOT start a session for? I've got Googlebot, MSN, and Yahoo covered. I haven't kept up with the latest on this, though, so I'm not sure if information I find about other crawler UA's is current.

2.) Is user-agent cloaking sufficient for this purpose, or should I get into IP-based cloaking instead? The idea is to just avoid getting session URL's indexed by the SE's, pure and simple. I would think going by the UA would be enough, but since this is my first time cloaking, I wanted to be sure.

3.) How does the following PHP code look to accomplish this task? It seems to work well enough, but I'm open to suggestions for improvements:

:: Code ::
<?php

$se = array('googlebot', 'yahoo', 'msn');
$ua = $_SERVER['HTTP_USER_AGENT'];
$setsession = 'TRUE';
foreach ($se as $v) {
   if (preg_match("/$v/im", $ua)) {
      $setsession = 'FALSE';
   }
}
if ($setsession === 'TRUE') {
   session_start();
}

?>

I know I haven't used the whole UA strings for the bots, but I figured using just the bare essentials would be good forward-compatibility in case some of them change in the future. Am I thinking right with that?

4.) Am I missing any pitfalls with cloaking for this purpose?

I've always heard of the dangers of cloaking, and while I'm sure this would pass any kind of manual check, I still feel a little giddy about it all! Any tips or reassurances will be most appreciated!

Thanks,

Matthew
techAdmin
Reply Quote
I wouldn't do that if I were you.