second HD reporting only 9mb size
doctorhifi
Reply Quote
Hello,
I have a Gateway Performace 1000XL (from around 2000) which came with a 20GB HD. I have installed XP Pro on it and it works fine in case you are wondering. I recently added a second HD, a 30G Quantum Fireball lct10 that I had from somewhere. Jumper on this drive is in the slave position.

Problemn is, this drive registers as only 9mb in size.

After hours of looking around, I found information making me think this drive may have been locked (I have a Tivo unit and it is possible that this 30g Quantum drive was in my Tivo before I upgraded to a much larger HD). I ran the qunlock untility and this did not help. Also tried diskutil to no avail. Drive still says its only 9mb in size.

I am new to this HD game, so any advice would be appreciated. I am a beginner in skill level as well when it comes to the PC, so I hope I've given enough information for someone to help out. Thanks
erikZ
Reply Quote
Well, you posted just enough information to start to find the answer. Here iis the gunluck utility link, which you say didn't work.

:: Quote ::
If you see the TiVo drive reporting as 9MB or 10MB, it means that the drive is locked. You'll need to go to www.9thtee.com/qunlock.exe. This executable will permanently unlock your drive.

Read the rest of that tivo hacking article. Good site, computerpoweruser.com.

So what's the problem? It sounds like your drive is still locked. How to unluck it if the unlock tool didn't work? My guess is something may not have been done correctly.

You can read more on unlocking the drive at 9thtee.com.