Dreamweaver - How to define form action?
MRae825
Reply Quote
First off, I apologize if this is in the incorrect category - I didn't want to post in the HTML section so I thought this general area was more appropriate.

I am a newbie to web design and joined the forums hoping for some advice. What probably seems so simple to the majority of you is brand new to me. I thank you for your patience and hope to return the favor by answering questions for others later.

Anyway, because I was such a newbie, I used Yahoo! Sitebuilder (yes, I know - not the best program out there :) ) I have since started working with Dreamweaver and am re-creating my site. I have figured out how to create forms, etc. My problem is how do I define an action in the form?

For example, in my contact us page, if I want an email to come to me with comments/question - what do I need to do? Also, how do I correctly define the confirmation page after hitting the "submit" button.

So mainly needing to know - how do I get the info. to my inbox and how do I notify the visitor their submission has been received.

Thank you in advance!
jeffd
Reply Quote
Welcome to the forums, MRae825. Normally this would be an HTML type question, but in this case it's a broader topic, since it actually deals more with hosting on yahoo using yahoo sitebuilder, which doesn't have much to do with HTML.

If you're using yahoo site builder, the form is probably submitting to a yahoo component that is out of your control, so the 'action' link can't be changed.

The normal way to do this is to have the form submit to another page on your website, which would be some type of scripted page, which would then send you the email.

However, with yahoo, it's not like that, in that case, you're submitting to a sort of master page that runs all the sites hosted by that part of yahoo, you have no control over that at all, and can't change any part of the parameters sent.

Normally, the action would look something like this:

:: Code ::