Firefox Flash Plugin Freezing
Hope
Reply Quote
Hi All,

I'm new here so forgive me if I'm posting in the wrong forum.

I have a website (basic .html pages) that uses Flash to play snippets of mp3s. All worked well but I found that if Firefox users do not have the lastest Flash plugin, after the snippet is played, the "Sandbox Errors" appear and the browser will freeze. I'm using a third party mp3 player. They are aware of the issue but their solution is that I should warn the visitor to upgrade to the newest Flash. That doesn't help me as I don't want to put a notice on each page. The only solution I can think of is finding a JavaScript to detect the Firefox and Flash version the visitor is using and have a message appear if they click on the "play sound" link if they need the latest version. I have no real scripting experience per se but I'm not afraid to edit a file if necessary. I can't see any other solution because I can't edit the Flash file. Any advice would be most appreciated. I like to offer websites that are accessible to most browsers so this is a little frustrating for me.

Thanks in advance.

Hope
jeffd
Reply Quote
<For information on the new Flash 8 issues read this thread>

Hi Hope, welcome to the forums. This issue is apparently documented, this is from wimpyplayer.com

:: Quote ::
Older versions of Firefox (prior to FireFox version 1.0) have issues with the Macromedia Flash plugin... And since Wimpy uses the Macromedia Flash plugin, those who use older version of Mozilla FireFox will have "issues" -- it is recommended that you inform those who use older version of Mozilla FireFox to upgrade their FireFox browser to at least version 1.0.1

Unfortunately I couldn't find anything else about that question. To test this, I'd check to see if a user with a firefox version earlier than 1.0 has these problems if they upgrade firefox to 1.0.1.