Planning directory hierarchy on new XP install
Robert_Charlton
Reply Quote
In another thread here on the "My Documents" folder in Windows XP, I got some excellent lessons in data management...
techpatterns.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=250
Thanks particularly to jeffd.

I thought I'd split further discussions of where to put what kinds of data into its own thread.

As a preface, I should mention that I'm new to multi-user systems, and my computer experience is with DOS and Windows 9x.

It's been suggested that I install my program files in a C partition, say 10 or 12 gigs to allow for future expansion, and that I reset the default "My Documents" target to be apart from C, on the D partition, with an actual pathname something like D:\docs\rc, where rc are my initials.

First, to confirm my understanding of this... I'm assuming that if down the line I were to switch to power user mode, my user data would be kept under D:\docs\rc. The admin would have access to data in all directories, but by using this directory structure, the admin's virtual "My Documents" in Windows Explorer would be D:\docs, so all other users would show up in subdirectories of this. Is this correct, or am I making an extra assumption that isn't quite right?

For now, though, I'm starting out with myself as a single user with admin rights.

As much as possible, I want to get all of my data in one place. In migrating over to a new system, which is what I'm doing now, one of the largest chores has been locating all of the settings and ini files that various programs put all over the place, and finding out what I can move where with the updated versions I'll be installing.

I'm guessing that some Windows programs will continue to give me no control... I'm not sure... but I'd like to get an idea of what users more experienced than I consider best practices for putting...

- program ini and setting files
- hardware drivers.