Disable sgfxi self-update?
warfacegod
Reply Quote
Is it possible to stop the sgfxi script from updating itself to the newest version? I'm trying to use the 4.22.06 version to install nVidia 331.20 because I keep getting errors that 4.22.08 does not support 331.20
techAdmin
Reply Quote
Check sgfxi -h for how to disable updater.

However, the 331.20 was not added as an option (-o) driver because I forgot, that's been corrected.

Note that there may be issues with 3.13 and 331, 331.20 will not work because there is no patch for it, 304 may work. 331.38 is the only 331 driver with a patch.
warfacegod
Reply Quote
I'm not good with man pages. Likely why I couldn't figure it out. I got as far as -W but that only stopped apt-get.

Yeah, I compiled 3.13 a few days ago hoping to get around the performance and heat issues I have with Liquorix 3.12 and nVidia's 331.38 driver. So I want go back to Liquorix 3.11

As far as I can tell, there are no nVidia drivers that will run with 3.13 without major effort on my part.

I'll try the new script and report back. Thanks.
techAdmin
Reply Quote
Try, it only takes a few minutes, as I said, I just added the patches for 331.38 - 3.13 kernel.

:: Code ::
sgfxi -h
-R Skips self updating feature. No restart.

not a man page, it's a help menu, like any other.
warfacegod
Reply Quote
I just ran the updated script and successfully installed 331.20 Once I'm finished building this OS, I'll build another as a test platform and see about kernel 3.13 and report back.

I completely missed that -R tag. DOH!

Thanks again for the help.
warfacegod
Reply Quote
Built a test OS and I've been running 3.13 with 331.38 on my AMD system for several hours now and no problems. The only sgfxi install issue I'll note is that I had to use the -f flag. That doesn't come entirely as a surprise to me though.