sgfxi error 196 and download fail
Durosuka
Reply Quote
some simple info.
Me = noob
using linux mint 16 cineman 64-bit
graphics card: AMD Radeon 7970
I also have smxi installed

right, I did download the 13.9 driver from AMD website manually but I ended up losing my desktop completely. reinstalled OS

so then I saw this script and the praise its getting. its sort of my last hope

running the script, it got to the stage of where it was downloading the driver. it stopped after about half a second then game me the error code 196 saying it failed to extract. naturally it was a failed download, but for the life of me I can't get it to re download it. it keeps targeting the failed download

any way I could copy the 13.9.zip file to where ever the script is running? I am a little new to the linux console so I don't know all the commands for copy and such.
could I also tell the sgfxi that I've already downloaded/extracted the .zip file?

Thanks in advance for any and all help
techAdmin
Reply Quote
remove the 13.9 file from /usr/src/downloads/sgfxi

then run sgfxi again, something changed at amd, it should work now.
Durosuka
Reply Quote
deleted it
ran the script
failed again

ok now I know where it puts the file. let me see if a manual download works (with rename and whatever)

UPDATE:

didn't work

it appears there is isn't a 13.9 driver for linux. Only a windows version. meaning the script is getting confused somehow.

I can't install 13.4 driver. According to the script my kernel isn't compatible with it. So I'm going to later try the 13.11 Beta driver and try to trick the script into using that one instead. For now I've got other things on my plate. I'll update later.

I'm also open to any suggestions you guys have
techAdmin
Reply Quote
amd has changed something, again, in their never ending quest to make supporting them harder than necessary. Not sure what the issue is at this point, but it's something.
techAdmin
Reply Quote