Windows 2K or XP?
MatthewHSE
Location: Central Illinois, typically glued to a computer screen
Reply Quote
I've been using Windows 2000 for several years now and am pretty used to it. Just recently I had my first experience with Windows XP and, in my opinion, it seemed like a dumbed-down, kludged-up and fouled-around version of W2K. For instance, instead of a decent user management tool like W2K, XP has this crazy wizard-like tool that doesn't give nearly enough options - not that I could find, at least - and doesn't show enough information.

Am I the only one with this opinion? I really was very strongly and negatively impressed with XP, but then there's the other side of the coin, with some people claiming it's more secure than W2K. Anyway, I'm just looking for opinions at the moment; should I consider "upgrading" to XP, or stick with what I have?
Windows XP versus Windows 2000
erikZ
Reply Quote
:: Quote ::
Am I the only one with this opinion? I really was very strongly and negatively impressed with XP

I can't speak for everyone, but I have installed many Windows 2000s, and have dealt with Windows XP as a network admin.

There are some key points to keep in mind with Windows XP:

• Windows XP is Windows NT 5.1. Windows 2000 professional is Windows NT 5.0, in other words, it's just a cosmetic upgrade.
  • Windows XP has several extremely poorly implemented features, such as:
    - An almost useless firewall, only blocks incoming traffic, which means all trojans etc installed on your system are fully free to phone home.
    - Absolutely horrible CD RW system comes native, requires procedure that is not easy or simple to remove this so you can use real CD burning software like Nero safely
    - The most pathetically vile and disgusting graphics I've ever seen.
    - Default installation removes key components from easy access.