Javascript Cookie to skip Splash Page
Eric LoCascio
Reply Quote
Hello - first time posting on your forum. I have to admit I mainly do flash and 3D animation, so my brain doesn't work the way yours does for programming - in other words, I'm not that good at it.

I have a client that wants a cookie placed on his splash page that has an intro on it - to skip the intro splash page for 24 hours and go to the homepage if the intro has been viewed . I found this great script on your site, that I think will work perfectly.

techpatterns.com/downloads/javascript_cookies.php

I read over it and get that you have to basically put in the 4 values for the function Set_Cookie. I downloaded the script and it's probably obvious, but I'm just not sure where to put it. In the javascripts that I have implemented in the past part goes in the heading and part goes directly in the body.

Any help would be much appreciated, and I thank you for your time. ;-)

- Eric LoCascio
www.FlashAnimationWebsiteDesign.com
jeffd
Reply Quote
Take a look at this page, which sets a test cookie, and shows some sample cookie setting code.

Call the cookie function either as a library file, like so:

:: Code ::
<script type="text/javascript" src="/js/javascript_cookies.js"></script>

Or just include the whole code block on the page, in the page <head>

Personally, I wouldn't use javascript, I'd set this server side, and do it dynamically, Javascript cookies are remarkably inelegant compared to say php cookie handling.
Eric LoCascio
Reply Quote
Hi Jeff - thank you very much for taking the time to answer my question - I know it is probably annoying people coming in here that are clueless w/ programming asking for help, but I am kind of in a bind and your help is much appreciated. ;-)

Thanks again,
Eric
Eric LoCascio
Reply Quote
hello - I made the changes on the cookie.js file and uploaded it. As follows...

function Set_Cookie( 'sfscookie', 'visited 9 times', 30, '/', '','' ) {