Page: 1, 2  Next

Installing testing + smxi + kde4
miks
Reply Quote
I just did an install from the weekly testing business card iso on a testbed machine to check it out and maybe install on my main machine to replace sidux. I unchecked the install desktop etc options at the end of the install and rebooted. I logged in as root and used the usual smxi install line but got this after it successfully downloaded smxi.zip:
:: Code ::

-bash: /usr/local/bin/smxi.zip: permission denied

I used apt-get to install zip unzip no probs.

This is my first attempt at install straight debian, so I am wondering what is going on?
jelloir
Reply Quote
Did you follow the "Installing with smxi.zip" instructions?

smxi.org/site/install.htm#install-with-zip

perhaps post the entire output of the commands you are using.
miks
Reply Quote
Thanks jelloir, it was a typo....

I usually copy and paste the install line but as I had no DE installed, I typed it, badly it seems. Still, I would have expected an error msg from a typo rather than a refusal of permission.

KDE4 installing now.
jelloir
Reply Quote
There's a fix for that :)

apt-get install lynx gpm
lynx http://smxi.org

Navigate to install-scripts - Copy command by selecting with mouse cursor (provided by gpm)
CTRL + ALT F2
Login as root and middle click your mouse to paste
use smxi
miks
Reply Quote
:: jelloir wrote ::
There's a fix for that :)

apt-get install lynx gpm
lynx http://smxi.org

Navigate to install-scripts - Copy command by selecting with mouse cursor (provided by gpm)
CTRL + ALT F2
Login as root and middle click your mouse to paste
use smxi

Ah, another new trick learnt.

Thanks Jelloir.

I have kde4 running now by installing smxi options 9 and 10, BUT, this did give an error message on the login screen of:

“No greeter widget plugin loaded. Check the configuration.” with an OK box. Clicking the OK box leads to KDE exiting to shell.

I found the fix here: