External hard drive enclosures, reliability, heat output
techAdmin
Reply Quote
Someone asked about external hard drive enclosures. Since I've had a lot of experience with a fairly wide variety of them, I thought I'd jot down some of my thoughts and experiences with these convenient but in the end totally unreliable creatures.

I am profoundly disappointed in the quality of external drive enclosures. Most of mine are failing under realworld fulltime use, I no longer consider any external enclosure acceptable as a full time on part of my system. They are ok for mount, do whatever, backup etc, then unmount and turn off.

I have tried both good quality Fan and Fanless type enclosures, and see not that much difference long term in overall reliability, although with hotter running hard disks especially (see below), a fan is highly desirable to avoid that oven-like temperature you get in those little aluminum heat containers they call enclosures.

Use that caused the failures
Consistent, heavy transfer of data, in the 100's of gigabyte ranges. Real use that is, not just copying an mp3 or jpg directory over or whatever. 24/7 operation. In other words, normal heavy use for a computer.

Why do External drive enclosures suck so bad?
It's very simple: they are too cheap. If you have say one with IDE support, that means that the circuit board on the drive has to have these two, at least, features: an IDE supporting chipset, just like your computer's motherboard has, and a USB chipset. Plus whatever else it needs. That's basically a very small, really dumb, computer. With lots of little parts, a case, internal frame, board mounter, power supplies, and so on.

Recommendations: buy quality, do not skimp, research
Brands I have liked, this thermaltake is good. It has some extremely useful features, such as supporting both IDE and SATA drives, although using IDE forces you to use only USB 2 connections. It also has a good quality metal case, with metal internal frame.