Creating Windows Partitions for Dual Boot setup
jeffd
Reply Quote
This question was moved from this thread.

:: Quote ::
One more thing, I always partition my hard drives into C (system), D (Programs) and E (Data). I can get my hands on an old copy of Partition Magic, but I've never used it before on a brand-new machine. Do I need to install Windows first, or should the hard drive be partitioned somehow before Windows is installed?

When you install windows, you are given the option to create partitions as part of the process, that's the easiest way to do it, sometimes partition magic can cause problems and there's really no reason to use it since you are starting from a blank harddrive.

During the install procedure, just select the options in windows install to create a new partition, make as many as you need, you can set the size on them one by one, but you can only format the partition you are going to install the os in during the install, you can go in later and format them through adminstrative tools, disk management feature, that works great.

Also, I may eventually do a dual-boot on this box, Windows and Linux. Would it be a good idea to create a separate partition for each OS? And while I'm partitioning, are there any other partitions I should create? I've heard of creating separate partitions for scratch disks and/or page files, not sure how or why to do that though.

Yes, absolutely, it's always easier and safer to partition the harddrive before installing os's on it. Keep in mind that Linux has to have it's primary boot partition before sector 1024, which is at around the 8 gigabyte point on your harddrive, so if you give windows about 4 gig, then create a single unformatted partition of around 8 gig for all of the linux stuff in the future, then a program and a data partition, you will be fine.

So your harddisk would have the following:

hd0a - windows, c:, 4-6 gig, ntfs
hd0b - future linux, unformatted, 8 gig