Page: 1, 2, 3  Next

minor nvidia woes again
hoodwink
Reply Quote
During the smxi d-u I just completed a few minutes ago, I had no errors until the graphics selection. When I relinked nvidia, I got a failure return code 1. After reboot and relink, all is well.

/var/log/smxi.log doesn't show any errors related to this, just

gfx command string: sgfxi -c -o 177.80 -j 1 -DX

and the usual utility start/end messages.
hoodwink
Reply Quote
Not obvious from this post, but I'm running sidux and using aptitude.
techAdmin
Reply Quote
I believe I may know what is wrong: I have a similar obscure problem that I finally figured out:

I had taken a motherboard I'd replaced for a client, which had exhibited weird behaviors, so we just upgraded since it was time anyway, then I used it to be a test box with nvidia.

Very soon after, I realized it was locking up at random intervals, I checked dmesg and the error outputs from terminal, and after a while I realized that it almost certainly has a bad but not dead ide controller chip that makes writes to the hard disks fail at random intervals, but they work at others.

Things like driver installs for example triggered that issue, since more data than usual would get written quickly.

Given your consistent issues that only you are experiencing, I'm going to guess you have a similar subtle hardware problem, that very close studies of your dmesg logs might but might not show evidence of.
hoodwink
Reply Quote
I'm guessing that this is not the problem.

1. I'm not experiencing any random lockups
2. My drives are sata
3. No harddrive (or any other) errors in my logs
4. Memory replaced a couple of months ago.
5. I would expect something else in the hundreds of packages installed every week to fail if this were a hardware problem.

I don't know whether this is an smxi problem or not, but is there any way for you to capture more informative error messages from the nVidia installer?
techAdmin
Reply Quote